We love hearing from you

Two thumbs up � � thanks for your wonderful service!!

Kal V.  February 2017

The tour in Rome was good and full of little vignettes of information and insights into Roman architecture and history. Heinz clearly had a wealth of information and it made me see Rome in a new light.

I think this to her there is more for someone like me who has seen the main sights and wants to try and dig a little deeper.

I got the impression that Heinz had not done a tour like that before or very often. We did a lot more walking then is usual (which he enjoyed as did I) - less stopping and seeing big things.

His English was very good. Although there were times when he struggled with a few words ir thoughts But I say that just for information. Americans might find his accent more difficult to understand that I did.

He is a former academic and so has that quiet professorial air which some will love but others may find left engaging.

Paul H.  September 2018 

Marika, helped us plan our trip to Germany for September 2019. We vistied Munich, Rothenberg Ob Der Tauber, Konigswinter (for a river boat cruise on the Rhine), Cologne and Berlin. We had guided tours, private transfers and rode the train with several transfers. Marika had everything written out for us down to the smallest detail so we knew exactly where we should be, who we were meeting or the times of the trains and which platform we would need to be on. While we were in Germany a change for our river boat cruise had to be made due to low water level at our original pick up point and she was able to make the changes and get them to us. Even with the new arrangements our trip went unbelievably smooth for all that we did. All of us enjoyed our trip to Germany and would highly recommend Marika, Gone Traveling Tours.

Marika also planned our trip to Italy several years ago.

Brian and Kim B.   September 2019

I had an amazing experience in Rome and in Tuscany. We had a wine tour and we visited Florence with a private guide. Thank you Gone Traveling for planning this wonderful trip to Italy!

Catherine C.  August 2019

Thank you, Marika for your help to organize our transportation and guided tours in the Amalfi Coast. Our driver, I think the name was Francesco, was very nice and always on time. Being a party of 12 women, sure, it was better to have a driver every day helping us to drive us around. In this way, we enjoyed amazing places and we loved any minutes!

Tina H.  October 2018

I took a trip to Italy on the last week of April 2018. Gone Traveling organized a private tour for me and my friends to the Vatican city and museums. Price was great and it included all the tickets. I was able to pay through paypal and they sent me the instructions about 1 week in advance.

When I get there, I call the tour guide and he was exactly in the meeting point. I was so glad that we avoided all the sketchy street vendors. The lines were HUGE and we avoided ALL of them. We didn't make a single line, our guide was very knowledgeable in history but he was also very good on how to navigate the city, and we avoided crowds as much as possible. We tipped the guide ~ 5E/person.

Gone Traveling earned big thumbs up.

Carlos O.  May 2018

I had a last-minute need for a couple of different tours in and around Rome.  Following a recommendation, I turned to Marika who came through with flying colors.  What she arranged was exactly what I was hoping for and everything turned out very, very well.

Gian R.  July 2018

First, I would like to thank you for your help in navigating all of the train strikes and how it affected our ability to get around France. You were great in getting us the trains we needed as we needed them. Thank you again for taking care of the trains for us. 

 

Tours:

We really enjoyed all of the tours you booked for us. The guides and the tours themselves were really fun and informative. We went to a lot of beautiful places. 

 

Hotels:

There was some good and some not so good. The hotel in Paris was very nice, we really enjoyed the charm of the hotel and it's location. It was very easy to get around in Paris from our hotel. 

 

The hotel in Reims was fantastic. It was great being there. Thank you for setting this up. 

 

The hotel in Strassburg was nice, but a little basic. There was an issue with the hotel, but not sure anything could have been done about it. There must have been a dead rat stuck in the walls, our whole floor had a very bad stench that just got worse during our stay there. It seems like they didn't have anywhere else to put us when we asked.

 

Finally, the hotel in Bayeux. It was just not good. First the air conditioning was a real issue, I'm not sure how we missed signals on that. I truly thought I had communicated that we needed air conditioning, because my wife has really bad allergies. I couldn't find that I had sent that information over, so I'm not sure. But even past the A/C, there was a very low structural beam that went across half of the bed. At some points, it was less then 2 feet from the bed. For a single person that might be ok getting up a night, but for 2 people, if someone has to get up at night they will run into the beam with their head. The other thing with that first hotel, the guy at the front desk was not very nice as we were leaving. He made a comment that it was too bad for us that we were changing hotels, since they already had our money. He didn't seem to care that my wife's allergies were out of control as she kept sneezing while we waited for our Taxi in the lobby. 

 

The Novotel, worked well for us. Thank you for getting us in there. 

Jeremy H.  May 2018